49 F

Davis, California

Saturday, October 16, 2021

Senate brief

ASUCD Senate meetings are scheduled to begin Thursdays at 6:10 p.m. Times listed are according to the clock at the June 3 meeting location, the Memorial Union’s Mee Room.


Meeting called to order at 6:16 p.m.


Jack Zwald, ASUCD president, present, left early

Previn Witana, ASUCD vice president, present

Abrham Castillo-Ruiz, ASCUD senator, present, left at 11:59 p.m., returned at 12:03 a.m.

Adam Thongsavat, ASUCD senator, present, left at 11:59 p.m., returned at 12:03 a.m.

Alison Tanner, ASUCD senator, present

Andre Lee, ASUCD president, present

Bree Rombi, ASUCD senator, pro tempore, present

Don Ho, ASUCD senator, present

Joel Juarez, ASUCD senator, present

Levi Menovske, ASUCD senator, present

Liz Walz, ASUCD senator, present

Osahon Ekhator, ASUCD senator, present, left at 11:59 p.m., returned at 12:03 a.m.

Ozzy Arce, ASUCD senator, present

Selisa Romero, ASUCD senator, present



Dana Percoco received the Michael J Tucker award.

Marcus Tang received the Commissioner of Excellence award for serving on the Academic Affairs Commission (AAC) for four years.

Jasmine Smith, Quentin Voyce and Darwin Moosavi received the Hottie Hot award.



Percoco presented on the success of safe boats and expressed hope that in the future, more people will be aware of the medical help they offer and therefore be safer on house boats.


Farewell addresses

Former Gender and Sexuality Commission (GASC) chair Sarah Raridon, Outreach Assembly (OA) speaker Voyce, Environmental Policy and Planning Commission (EPPC) chair Moosavi and Ethnic and Cultural Affairs Commission (ECAC) chair Smith gave their farewell speeches.


Appointments and confirmations

Margaret Link, Jennifer Urrutis and Kristina Bonnett were appointed to the EPPC.

Edward Montelongo was appointed chair to the ECAC.

Laura Chitaka, Olufemi Feyhun, Crystal Charity, Tomas Tesfasilassre and Nadia Mulsi were appointed to the ECAC.

Sabrina Dias was appointed as OA speaker.

Ixchel Martinez, Jessica Shpolyansky, Jessica Martin, Trevor Fleshmar, Wendy Lu, Anuj Ahmad and Danielle Lee were appointed to OA.

Segio Cano was confirmed chair of the Internal Affairs Commission (IAC).

Fatima Salman, Kristen Kelley, Jason Wong, Duaa Gettani, Fatima Mohammed-Zakir and Kevin Pascual were appointed to the IAC.

Dylan Schaefer was appointed director of City County Affairs.

Charlie Colato was appointed director of Picnic Day.


Consideration of old legislation

Senate Bill 77 authored by Moosavi, co-authored and introduced by Rombi, to allocate $1,258.33 from Capital Reserves to purchase recycling bins for various ASUCD units from R4 Recycling, passed unanimously.


Senate Bill 79 authored by Mohammed-Zakir, co-authored and introduced by Lee, to correct a textual error in the ASUCD Bylaws, passed unanimously.


Senate Bill 80 authored and introduced by Rombi, to outline duties of the Elections Committee chairperson, passed unanimously.


Senate Bill 81 authored by Rudy Ornelas, co-authored and introduced by Lee, to allocate $2,530.54 from Capital Reserves to purchase two computers for the ASUCD Executive Office, passed unanimously.


Senate Bill 82 authored by Jeysree Ramachandran, co-authored by Joey Chen, Melanie Maemura, Menovske and Kristen Stone, introduced by Juarez, to implement the Long-Range Plan for Cal Aggie Camp, passed unanimously.


Senate Resolution 40 authored by Smith and introduced by ECAC, in support of the implementation of a Middle Eastern South Asian (MESA) Week into the UC Davis Cultural Days series, passed with a 11-1 vote.


Status of legislation previously passed

Senate Bill 76, to establish a process of changing the official ASUCD logo, symbol or icon was vetoed by Zwald. The senate voted to override the veto with a 8-4 vote.


Public Discussion

Members at the table brought up issues of respect and had concerns about a California Aggie article on the subject of senators’ office hours and attendance at senate meetings. Some members felt misrepresented or misquoted in the article.


Meeting adjourned at 12:32 a.m


AKSHAYA RAMANUJAM compiles the senate briefs. She can be reached at campus@theaggie.org 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here