83.5 F

Davis, California

Thursday, May 30, 2024

ASUCD Senate Briefs

ASUCD Senate meetings are scheduled to begin Thursdays at 6:10 p.m. Times listed are according to the reporter’s watch during the Oct. 16 public meeting location, the Memorial Union’s Coffee House.


Ivan Carrillo, ASUCD president, present

Molly Fluet, ASUCD vice president, present

Lula Ahmed-Falol, ASUCD senator, present

Andrew Bianchi, ASUCD senator, present

Sergio Blanco, ASUCD senator, present

Joe Chatham, ASUCD senator, present

Chris Dietrich, ASUCD senator, present

Rebecca Lovell, ASUCD senator, present

Erica Oropeza, ASUCD president pro-tempore, present

Chad Roberts, ASUCD senator, present

Jesse Rosales, ASUCD senator, present, did not return from a break scheduled to end at 10:45 p.m.

Ramneek Saini, ASUCD senator, present

Rebecca Schwartz, ASUCD senator, present

Tracey Zeng, ASUCD senator, present


Meeting called to order at 6:11 p.m.


Appointments and confirmations

Lauren Ward and Brandon Steele were confirmed commissioners of Environmental Planning and Policy.


Nick Sidney was confirmed outreach coordinator of Elections Committee.


Daniel Goodman was confirmed publicity director of Elections Committee.


Tasha Cooke was confirmed media coordinator of Elections Committee.


Raj Kumar was confirmed events coordinator of elections committee.


Anthony Sanchez was confirmed to the Outreach Assembly.


Consideration of old legislation

Senate Resolution 4, authored by Steven Lee, coauthored by Randy Craig and Greg Dizon and introduced by Ahmed-Falol, would support a Measure W parcel tax for Davis city school, passed with a 9-2-1 vote.


Senate Resolution 5, authored by Adalberto Corres, coauthored by Miriam Delgado and introduced by Schwartz, would urge the UC Regents to appeal the California Third District Court of Appeal’s decision on the case Martinez v. The Regents of the University of California, which overturned AB 540, passed unanimously


Senate Resolution 2, authored by Laura Brown, and coauthored and introduced by Oropeza would endorse opposition to Prop 8 on the Nov. 4, 2008 California Ballot, passed with a 9-1-2 vote.


Senate Resolution 3, authored by Brown and coauthored and introduced by Oropeza would endorse opposition to Prop 4 on the Nov. 4, 2008 California Ballot, passed with a 10-1-1 vote.


Senate Bill 7, authored and introduced by Schwartz, would establish public ASUCD senate meeting locations, passed unanimously.


Senate Bill 8, authored by Amy Hartstein, coauthored by Carrillo, Fluet and Paul Harms, and introduced by Dietrich would remove all references to the Student Government Advisor from the bylaws, passed unanimously.


Public announcements

Dietrich and Rosales announced the disbandment of the political slate GO because they feel that the slate did not truly represent the student body.


Meeting adjourned at 10:52 p.m.


Senate briefs are compiled by LAUREN STEUSSY. She can be reached at campus@californiaaggie.com. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here