65.3 F

Davis, California

Friday, April 19, 2024

Senate Briefs

ASUCD Senate meetings are scheduled to begin Thursdays at 6:10 p.m. Times listed are according to the clock at the Nov. 20 meeting location, the Memorial Union’s Mee Room.


Meeting called to order at 6:12 p.m.


Ivan Carrillo, ASUCD president, left at 11:00 p.m.

Molly Fluet, ASUCD vice president, left at 11:03 p.m.

Lula Ahmed-Falol, ASUCD senator, present

Andrew Bianchi, ASUCD senator, present

Sergio Blanco, ASUCD senator, present

Joe Chatham, ASUCD senator, present

Chris Dietrich, ASUCD senator, present

Rebecca Lovell, ASUCD senator, present

Erica Oropeza ASUCD senator pro tempore, present

Chad Roberts, ASUCD senator, present

Jesse Rosales, ASUCD senator, present

Ramneek Saini, ASUCD senator, not present

Rebecca Schwartz, ASUCD senator, present

Tracy Zeng, ASUCD senator, present



The Michael John Tucker leadership award was presented to Chatham.


Carrillo presented his State of the Union address.


Departing Senators said their farewell speeches in the following order: Lovell, Zeng, Chatham, Rosales, Roberts, Ahmed-Falol.


Appointments and confirmations

Danny Garret, Mo Torres, Justin Patrizio, Laura Pulido, Jack Zwald and Erin Lebe were all confirmed as ASUCD senators.


New student court cases/prior weeks’ verdicts

The Chief Justice presented the past weeks’ verdicts. She announced they made changes to the judicial codes and that they will make a pamphlet on how to file a court case and approach the Court.


Consideration of old legislation

Urgent Senate Resolution 10, co-authored by Jonathan Woolley, authored and introduced by Dietrich, would support the continued existence of the Bike Church, passed unanimously.


Urgent Senate Bill 15, co-authored by Nina Massoumi and Torres, authored and introduced by Oropeza, would allocate $403.32 from Senate Reserves to help fund the attendance of 75 UC Davis students to this year’s Student of Color conference taking place Nov. 21 to 23 at UCLA, did not pass 5:6:1 (Saini not present). The amount was changed from $1,000, to $750, to $503.32, then to $403.32.


Senate Bill 12 authored by Matthew Shannon, co-authored by Paul Harms, and introduced by Dietrich, would implement the Long Range Plan for University Affairs, passed unanimously.


Dietrich was elected senator pro-tempore in Fluet’s absence at 11:03 p.m.


Senate Bill 13, authored and introduced by Chatham and co-authored by Amy Harstein, would add the responsibility of the MyUCDavis “My Student Government Channel” to Chapter 13 of the Bylaws, passed unanimously.


Senate Bill 14, authored and introduced by Chatham, allocated $175 from Senate Reserves to advertise MyUCDavis “My Student Government Channel” on facebook.com, passed 9:1:2, with Pulido abstaining, an automatic abstain due to Saini’s absence and a no vote from Blanco.


Other business


Dietrich was appointed the representative of the Internet Network Committee which oversees ASUCD networking and website issues.


Positions are now open for the Environmental Planning and Policy Commission (EPPC), Business and Finance Commission (B&F), Gender and Sexuality Commission (GASC) and Ethnic Cultural Affairs Commission (ECAC).


Amanpreet Singh, commission chair for EPPC, announced the “Sex, Funk and Danger” benefit concert at the Delta of Venus café for Nov. 24 at 8 p.m. Free canvas bags will be given out.


The meeting was adjourned at 12:10 a.m.


ANGELA RUGGIERO compiles the Senate Briefs and can be reached at campus@theaggie.org.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here