58 F

Davis, California

Saturday, February 24, 2024

Senate Briefs

ASUCD Senate meetings are scheduled to begin Thursdays at 6:10 p.m. Times listed are according to the clock at the Nov. 19 meeting location, the Memorial Union’s Mee Room.

Meeting called to order at 6:14 p.m.

Joe Chatham, ASUCD president, present

Chris Dietrich, ASUCD vice president, present

Joemar Clemente, ASUCD senator, present

Danny Garrett, ASUCD senator, present

Justin Gold, ASUCD senator, present

Erin Lebe, ASUCD senator, present

Kevin Massoudi, ASUCD senator, present

Justin Patrizio, ASUCD senator, present

Laura Pulido, ASUCD senator, present

Shawdee Rouhafza, ASUCD senator, present

Trevor Taylor, ASUCD senator, present

Mo Torres, ASUCD senator, present

Previn Witana, ASUCD president pro-tempore, present

Jack Zwald, ASUCD senator, present

Public Discussion

Torres stressed the importance of the student protests at Mrak Hall and recommended that the senate move there to support the students and stand against the UC Regents’ 32 percent fee increase decision.

Sean Stampfli explained his stance on the matter of the fee increase, stating that it was unprecedented and affected all students at the university.

Garrett motioned to move the meeting to Mrak Hall, and the motion carried with no objections.

Meeting reconvened at Mrak Hall at roughly 9 p.m.

Consideration of urgent legislation

An Urgent Senate Resolution authored and introduced by Torres, declaring a vote of no confidence in Mark Yudof and the Regents of the University of California, passed unanimously.

Appointments and Confirmations

The senate swore in Abrham Castillo-Ruiz, Don Ho, Joel Juarez, Andre Lee, Levi Menovske and Bree Rombi as ASUCD senators.

Meeting reconvened at Mee Room at 10:12 p.m.

Consideration of Old Legislation

Senate Resolution 7, authored and introduced by Dietrich, to support the return of interests on security deposits for renters in Davis, passed unanimously.

Meeting adjourned at 10:19 p.m.

ARNOLD LAU compiles the senate briefs. He can be reached at campus@theaggie.org.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here