62.6 F

Davis, California

Friday, February 23, 2024

Senate Briefs

ASUCD Senate meetings are scheduled to begin Thursdays at 6:10 p.m. Times listed are according to the clock at the Dec. 3 meeting location, the Memorial Union’s Mee Room.

Meeting called to order at 6:10 p.m.

Joe Chatham, ASUCD president, present

Chris Dietrich, ASUCD vice president, present

Abrham Castillo-Ruiz, ASUCD senator, present

Joemar Clemente, ASUCD senator, present

Justin Gold, ASUCD senator, present

Don Ho, ASUCD senator, present

Joel Juarez, ASUCD senator, present

Andre Lee, ASUCD senator, present

Levi Menovske, ASUCD senator, present

Kevin Massoudi, ASUCD senator, present

Laura Pulido, ASUCD senator, present

Bree Rombee, ASUCD senator, present

Shawdee Rouhafza, ASUCD senator, present

Trevor Taylor, ASUCD senator, present

Previn Witana, ASUCD president pro-tempore, present


Dietrich presented the Student Government Administrative Office’s Michael John Tucker Leadership Award to Zwald.

Dana Percoco of the External Affairs Commission (EAC) awarded Witana and Taylor Fleshman of the Outreach Assembly with the Senate Hottie-Hot-Hot Awards.

Appointments and Confirmations

The senate approved Avnish Brar and Nazir Sayed commissioners to the Business and Finance Commission (BFC).

The senate approved Ozzy Arce, Samantha Hayflich, Kevin Pascual and Bihter Ozedirne commissioners to the EAC.

The senate approved Riha Pathak and Jaspreet Dehar commissioners to the Ethnic and Cultural Affairs Commission (ECAC).

The senate approved Jess Lam and Matt Russo commissioners to the Environmental Policy and Planning Commission (EPPC).

Farewell Addresses

Former senators Jack Zwald, Erin Lebe, Laura Pulido, Mo Torres, as well as Fleshman and Max Mikalonis gave their thanks, farewells and advice for their new senators.

Consideration of urgent legislation

An Urgent Senate Resolution authored by Torres, declaring a vote of no confidence in Mark Yudof and the Regents of the University of California, passed unanimously.

Consideration of Old Legislation

Senate Resolution 9, authored by Torres, calling for a vote of no confidence in Mark Yudof and the UC Regents, was vetoed by Chatham. The veto remained with a 6-6 vote on whether or not to override it.

Senate Bill 14, authored by Nick Sidney of the ASUCD Elections Committee and co-authored by Hartstein, to change the deadline for which a candidate may withdraw from an election, was passed unanimously.

Senate Bill 21, authored by Mehnovinsky, to purchase a tape deck, tripod and shoulder mount for AGTV using Capital Reserves funding, was passed unanimously.

Senate Bill 23, authored by Hartstein, co-authored by Justice Ryan Meyerhoff of the ASUCD Court, to disallow ASUCD Court Justices from co-authoring legislation, was passed unanimously.

Senate Bill 26, authored by Jeff Williams, chair of the BFC, to allocate funding from Capital Reserves to purchase two gavels for use by ASUCD Commissions, was passed unanimously.

Urgent LegislationAn Urgent Senate Resolution, authored by Laura Brown, commissioner of GASC, to affirm that the Co-ops need to remain a student resource on campus, was passed unanimously.

An Urgent Senate Resolution, authored by Chatham, co-authored by Dietrich, Torres and ASUCD Controller Eli Yani, was withdrawn for further work over winter break and future discussion.

Unit Director Reports

Valentina Cekovski of Project Compost stated that there is a new place to pick up composting materials behind Academic Surge, and announced a composting workshop scheduled for Jan. 23 and a backyard compost workshop on Feb. 20, both of which are to be held in front of the Tri Co-ops.

Daniel Fontaine of AGTV reported improvements in AGTV production, including a renovated studio, a newly designed project workflow where videos are released individually and an improved business philosophy willing to accommodate student needs while working with ASUCD and The California Aggie for improved content and communication.

Other BusinessWitana was approved a member of the Internet and Networking Committee.

Meeting adjourned at 12:48 a.m.

ARNOLD LAU compiles the senate briefs. He can be reached at campus@theaggie.org.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here