60.6 F

Davis, California

Thursday, April 18, 2024

ASUCD Senate Briefs

ASUCD Senate Meetings are scheduled to begin Thursdays at 6:10 p.m. Times listed are according to the Feb. 25 meeting location, the Memorial Union’s Mee Room.

Meeting called to order at 6:12 p.m.

Joe Chatham, ASUCD president, left early

Chris Dietrich, ASUCD vice president, present

Abrham Castillo-Ruiz, ASCUD senator, present

Adam Thongsavat, ASUCD senator, present

Alison Tanner, ASUCD senator, arrived late from a break scheduled to end at 5:55 p.m.

Andre Lee, ASUCD president pro tempore, arrived late from a break scheduled to end at 8:55

Bree Rombi, ASUCD senator, present

Don Ho, ASUCD senator, arrived late

Joel Juarez, ASUCD senator, present

Levi Menovske, ASUCD senator, arrived late from a break scheduled to end at 8:55

Liz Walz, ASUCD senator, present

Osahon Ekhator, ASUCD senator, present

Ozzy Arce, ASUCD senator, arrived late from a break scheduled to end at 8:55

Selisa Romero, ASUCD senator, present

Appointments and confirmations

Keith Sun was appointed Spiritual and Religious Chair to the ASUCD Outreach Assembly.

Tanner was appointed head of the Campus Media Board.


Dietrich presented the Student Government Administrative Office’s Michael John Tucker Leadership Award to Previn Witana.

Sunny Dhillon, a senior computer engineering major, and Fei Li, a senior computer science major, presented their UC Davis Mobile iPhone application.

Farewell addresses

Former senators Justin Gold, Shawdee Rouhafza, Trevor Taylor, Joemar Clemente, Kevin Massoudi and Witana gave their farewell speeches.

Consideration of old legislation

Senate Bill 36, authored by Witana, co-authored by Ho, to allocate $2,850 from Capital Reserves to purchase a screen, a blower, a Denon AV-V210 DVD player, cables, a switcher and tie-downs for the Entertainment Council, passed unanimously.

Consideration of urgent legislation

Urgent Resolution, authored by Amelia Goodfellow, co-authored by Lee and Quentin Voyce, in support of Health Education and Promotion’s (HEP) first UC Davis Nap-In on March 10, passed with an 11:1 vote.

Public discussion

Lee proposed creating a committee for continuing work on UC Davis Mobile upon Dhillon and Li’s graduations. The proposition was tabled for further discussion.

Meeting adjourned at 11:08 p.m.

JANELLE BITKER complies the senate briefs. She can be reached at campus@theaggie.org.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here