68.1 F

Davis, California

Wednesday, May 29, 2024

Senate Briefs

ASUCD Senate meetings are scheduled to begin Thursdays at 6:10 p.m. Times listed are according to the clock at the May 20 meeting location, Tercero Main.

Meeting called to order at 6:14 p.m.

Jack Zwald, ASUCD president, absent

Previn Witana, ASUCD vice president, present

Abrham Castillo-Ruiz, ASCUD senator, present

Adam Thongsavat, ASUCD senator, present

Alison Tanner, ASUCD senator, present

Andre Lee, ASUCD president, present, arrived late from a break scheduled to end at 11:22

Bree Rombi, ASUCD senator, pro tempore, present

Don Ho, ASUCD senator, arrived at 6:16 p.m.

Joel Juarez, ASUCD senator, present, returned at 7:39 from a break scheduled to end at 7:33

Levi Menovske, ASUCD senator, present

Liz Walz, ASUCD senator, present

Osahon Ekhator, ASUCD senator, absent

Ozzy Arce, ASUCD senator, present

Selisa Romero, ASUCD senator, present

Consideration of old legislation

Senate Resolution 34, authored and introduced by Juarez to oppose House Bill 2281, passed by the Arizona state legislature on April 29, 2010, banning ethnic studies courses in all K-12 public and charter schools, passed unanimously.

Senate Bill 72 authored by Navarro, co-authored by Adam Loberstein, Sam Mahood, Mark Ling, Tanner and Joey Cheng, introduced by Tanner, to implement the long-range plan for The California Aggie, passed unanimously.

Senate Bill 74 authored by Tanner, co-authored by Brendan Repicky and Andrea Abergel, introduced by Tanner, to create a special committee, the Aggie Public Arts Committee, passed unanimously.

Senate Resolution 38 authored by Jeremia Kimelman, co-authored by Justin Patrizio, introduced by Lee, to officially support California Senate Bill 1045 authored by California State Senator Elaine Alquist, passed unanimously.

Senate Bill 61 authored by Menovske, co-authored by Ho, Kelly McBee and Tessa Artale, introduced by Menovske, to allocate $343.00 from Capital Reserves to purchase nine fruit trees to be planted on campus for student use, passed unanimously.

An Urgent Bill authored by Castillo-Ruiz, co-authored by Sarah Raridon, introduced by Castillo-Ruiz, to allocate $921.34 to the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender Resource Center for the Lavender Graduation Celebration, passed with a 10-1-1 vote.

Senate Bill 60 authored by Castillo-Ruiz, co-authored by Kristine Lalic, Stephen Dimal and Romie Amposta and introduced by Castillo-Ruiz to allocate $1,265.27 from Senate Reserves to the Filipino Graduation Celebration being held on Sunday June 13, 2010, passed with a 10-1-1 vote.


The budgets for the Whole Earth Festival, the book exchange, KDVS and student government were reopened and amended.

Meeting adjourned at 12:50 a.m.

AKSHAYA RAMANUJAM compiles the senate briefs. She can be reached at campus@theaggie.org.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here