56.4 F

Davis, California

Saturday, May 25, 2024

Aggie Senate Briefs

ASUCD Senate meetings are scheduled to begin Thursdays at 6:10 p.m. Times listed are according to the clock at the Nov. 18 meeting location, the Memorial Union’s Mee Room.

Meeting called to order at 6:16 p.m.

Jack Zwald, ASUCD president, present, left early

Previn Witana, ASUCD vice president, present

Ozzy Arce, ASUCD senator, present

Emmanuel Diaz-Ordaz, ASUCD senator, present

Osahon Ekhator, ASUCD senator, present, arrived late

Andre Lee, ASUCD senator, president pro tempore, present

Tatiana Moana Bush, ASUCD senator, present

Darwin Moosavi, ASUCD senator, present

Matt Provencher, ASUCD senator, present

Selisa Romero, ASUCD senator, present

Rebecca Sterling, ASCUD senator, present

Alison Tanner, ASUCD senator, present

Adam Thongsavat, ASUCD senator, present

Liz Walz, ASUCD senator, present, left early

Farewell addresses

Former Senators Joel Juarez, Andre Lee, Don Ho, Bree Rombi, Levi Menovske and Abrham Castillo-Ruiz gave their farewell speeches.


Rombi received the Michael J. Tucker award.

Dana Percoco presented the Hottie Hot award to Juarez and Rombi.

Appointments and confirmations

Madelaine Sortano was confirmed director of Cal Aggie Camp.

Consideration of old legislation

Senate Bill 17 authored by Sergio Cano, co-authored by Lee and introduced by Rombi, to allow legislation to be readily available to commissioners, passed unanimously.

Senate Bill 18 authored by Ryan Fong, co-authored by Tanner, Allison Bollback and Dannielle Kimpel and introduced by Tanner, to allocate $27.00 from Senate Reserves to purchase six informational posters aimed at raising ASUCD awareness on campus, passed unanimously.

Senate Bill 21 authored by the Internal Affairs Commission, co-authored by Aaron Giampietro, Baxter Boeh-Sobon, Matthew Blair and Sabrina Dias and introduced by the Internal Affairs Commission (IAC), to allocate $2,398.00 from Capital Reserves to purchase two 21.5-inch iMacs for the Office of External Affairs, including University Affairs, City and County Affairs and Lobby Corps, passed unanimously.

Senate Bill 22 authored and introduced by the IAC and co-authored by Lee, to prevent commissions from voting on network or technological capital prior to approval by the Internet and Networking Committee, passed unanimously.

An urgent resolution authored by Cano, co-authored by Caitlin Alday, Josh Lovelace, Tanner and Thongsavat, introduced by Rombi, to oppose the 8 percent fee increase imposed by the UC Board of Regents, passed unanimously.

Approval of past meeting minutes


Meeting adjourned at 10:43 p.m.

AKSHAYA RAMANUJAM compiles the senate briefs. She can be reached at campus@theaggie.org.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here