80.3 F

Davis, California

Monday, June 17, 2024

Senate Briefs

ASUCD Senate meetings are scheduled to begin Thursdays at 6:10 p.m. Times listed are according to the clock at the May 12 meeting location, the Memorial Union’s Mee Room. The ASUCD president is not required to attend senate meetings.

Meeting called to order at 6:10 p.m.

Adam Thongsavat, ASUCD president, present, left early

Bree Rombi, ASUCD vice president, present

Yena Bae, ASUCD senator, present

Miguel Espinoza, ASUCD senator, present, arrived late at 9:05 p.m.

Emmanuel Diaz-Ordaz, ASUCD senator, present, arrived late at 9:05 p.m.

Andre Lee, ASUCD senator, present

Amy Martin, ASUCD senator, president pro tempore, present

Mayra Martín, ASUCD senator, present

Tatiana Moana Bush, ASUCD senator, present

Darwin Moosavi, ASUCD senator, present

Matthew Provencher, ASUCD senator, present

Brendan Repicky, ASUCD senator, present

Rebecca Sterling, ASUCD senator, present

Eli Yani, ASUCD senator, present

Appointments and confirmations

Aaron Alvarado and Priscilla Wong were confirmed to the Gender and Sexuality Commission.

Ryan Hagens was confirmed as director of Campus Copies.

Eddie Truong was confirmed as director of Refrigerator Services.

Henry Chatfield was appointed as director of Entertainment Council.

Rosa Gonzalez, Rajiv Narayan, Ruth Lee, Dominique Chao, Megan Wilson and Amanda Alonzo were confirmed to the Student Health and Wellness Committee.

Unit director reports

STS/Tipsy Taxi Unit Director Sebastian Belser said that the unit is doing very well. Their new van should be delivered sometime in July, so it will be ready starting Fall quarter. He said the new Thursday night services have been successful thus far and will probably continue next year. He also said that charter division sales are doing well.

Megan Frantz from AggieTV said that Lip Dub has been completed and the video was put up Friday. She said that AggieTV is also starting to work on a short film about ASUCD and what it’s all about.

Consideration of old legislation

Senate Resolution 17, authored by Erica Padgett, co-authored by Alison Tanner and Thongsavat, introduced by Repicky, to grant SwoopThat.com use of the ASUCD name and logo. Sterling asked if Slugbooks or other booksellers, had been considered instead of SwoopThat. The bill passed unanimously.

Senate Bill 84, authored by Repicky, co-authored by Bae, Sergio Cano, Moosavi and Daniel Olivas, introduced by Repicky, to make the Aggie Public Arts Committee permanent. Dana Percoco said she was concerned that the bill had changed since the External Affairs Commission had seen it. The bill passed unanimously.

Senate Bill 91, authored by Patrick Sheehan, co-authored by Lee and Moosavi, introduced by Lee, to improve the transparency of spending bills. The bill passed unanimously.

Senate Bill 93, authored by Tanner, co-authored by Nick Sidney and Thongsavat, introduced by Martín, to change the process of hiring the chair of the Student-Police Relations Committee. The bill passed unanimously.

Senate Bill 92 authored by Bae, co-authored by Mark Champagne, introduced by Bae, to allocate $30,400 from Refrigerator Services Reserves to purchase 75 MicroFridges. The bill was tabled.

Public discussion

Rombi said she wanted to make sure that everyone knew how budget hearings would be held. She explained the schedule and the procedures. She said that senators should make sure to focus on the budget and not issues pertaining to other parts of the units.

Public announcements

Sterling said that the Davis Day of Service will be May 22 from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. People can volunteer with the Special Olympics, Shields Library, Habitat for Humanity, Davis senior homes, the community building chalk mural and creek restoration.

Rombi announced that next week is Black Family Week.

Meeting adjourned at 9:51 p.m.

Open positions within ASUCD can be found at vacancy.ucdavis.edu. HANNAH STRUMWASSER compiles the senate briefs. She can be reached at campus@theaggie.org.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here