55.3 F

Davis, California

Saturday, April 13, 2024

Senate Briefs

ASUCD Senate meetings are scheduled to begin Thursdays at 6:10 p.m. Times listed are according to the clock at the May 26 meeting location, the Memorial Union’s Mee Room. The ASUCD president is not required to attend senate meetings.

Meeting called to order at 6:10 p.m.

Adam Thongsavat, ASUCD president, present, arrived late, left early

Bree Rombi, ASUCD vice president, present

Yena Bae, ASUCD senator, present, left early at 10:17 p.m.

Miguel Espinoza, ASUCD senator, present

Emmanuel Diaz-Ordaz, ASUCD senator, present

Andre Lee, ASUCD senator, arrived late at 7:23 p.m.

Amy Martin, ASUCD senator, president pro tempore, present

Mayra Martín, ASUCD senator, present

Tatiana Moana Bush, ASUCD senator, present

Darwin Moosavi, ASUCD senator, present

Matthew Provencher, ASUCD senator, present

Brendan Repicky, ASUCD senator, present

Rebecca Sterling, ASUCD senator, present

Appointments and confirmations

Bihter Ozedirne was confirmed as Lobby Corps director.

Brittany Pickwoad was confirmed to the Aggie Bound Outreach Commission.

Aaron Hsu, Joshua Coronado-Moses, Kabir Kapur, Michael Juarez and Eric Renslo were confirmed to Internal Affairs Commission.

Edd Montelongo was re-confirmed as Ethnic and Cultural Affairs Commission (ECAC) chair.

Suzanne Lewis was confirmed as director of the Experimental College.

Rosa Gonzales was confirmed as director of The Pantry.

Unit director reports

Lauren Jabusch from Campus Center for the Environment said that it are holding a sustainability summit today from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m., and there will be a free lunch.

Aaron Giampietro from Lobby Corps said that the unit will be presenting the Legislature of the Year Award to Senator Ed Hernandez this Wednesday at the Activities and Recreation Center in Ballroom 1 at 6 p.m.

Consideration of old legislation

Senate Bill 100, authored by Diaz-Ordaz, co-authored by K. Ramirez, N. Ramirez and Vergara, introduced by Diaz-Ordaz, to allocate $600 from Senate Reserves to fund the first annual S.P.E.A.K. Scholarship during AB 540 Awareness Week, put on by Scholars Promoting Education, Awareness and Knowledge (S.P.E.A.K.). Moosavi said that he was concerned that the money for this scholarship was coming from the wrong place and that the bill would only be helping two students. Diaz-Ordaz said that he felt that if they could retain even one student, he hoped the senate would think the bill would be worth funding. Sterling said that she supported the ideals behind this bill, but as a senator she did not think the bill was a sustainable use of senate reserves. Provencher said that he would rather see it put in an endowment fund so it could gain interest, not just given out as a one-time thing. The bill failed in a 4-7 vote. Sterling, Repicky, Provencher, Moosavi, Martin, Lee and Bae voted no.

Senate Resolution 19 authored by Brian Barnett, co-authored by Bryen Alperin, Alison Tanner, Thongsavat, Vasudeva and Belser, introduced by Lee, to support the Special Transportation Services/Tipsy Taxi ASUCD Executive Office Special Task Force to overturn Section 3023(d) of the “Safe, Accountable, Flexible, Efficient Transportation Equity Act: A Legacy for Users” of 2005. The bill passed unanimously.

Senate Bill 105, authored by Cano, to restructure the Student-Police Relations Committee. Moosavi said that they should put the committee under the Campus Safety Commission. After a long conversation, the senate decided to talk about the larger issue at another time and focus on the bill at hand. The bill passed unanimously.

Senate Bill 103, authored by Sergio Cano, co-authored by Ryan Meyerhoff, introduced by Cano, to prohibit the Elections Committee members from obtaining a Nominating Petition and Notice of Candidacy. The bill was tabled.

Senate Bill 106, authored by Cano to expand oversight of the ASUCD Elections Committee, passed unanimously.

Senate Bill 107 authored by Cano to address listserv usage in the Election Codes, passed unanimously.

Public discussion

Repicky applauded Moosavi and Will Quinn, Environmental Policy and Planning Commission chair, for their hard work in removing plastic bags from the UC Davis Bookstore.

Bae said that she thinks having consistency in interviews that are two days long is very important. She said she didn’t think it was fair to hold completely different interviews for all applicants.

Brian said that he was disappointed to hear about issues with Business and Finance interviews and that he would bring it up with the commission.

Provencher said that there have been talks about actions taken by a court justice. Provencher said he would like to impeach the court justice to determine whether or not they acted in a manner that was appropriate.

Meeting adjourned at 10:49 p.m.

Open positions within ASUCD can be found at vacancy.ucdavis.edu. HANNAH STRUMWASSER compiles the senate briefs. She can be reached at campus@theaggie.org.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here