72.4 F

Davis, California

Thursday, April 18, 2024

ASUCD Senate Briefs

ASUCD Senate meetings are scheduled to begin Thursdays at 6:10 p.m. Times listed are according to the clock at the Oct. 13, 2011 meeting location, the Memorial Union’s Coffee House. The ASUCD president is not required to attend senate meetings.

Meeting called to order at 6:10 p.m.

Adam Thongsavat, ASUCD president, present

Bree Rombi, ASUCD vice president, present

Yena Bae, ASUCD senator, present

Miguel Espinoza, ASUCD senator, present

Emmanuel Diaz-Ordaz, ASUCD senator, present

Andre Lee, ASUCD senator, present

Amy Martin, ASUCD senator, present

Mayra Martín, ASUCD senator, present

Tatiana Moana Bush, ASUCD senator, present

Darwin Moosavi, ASUCD senator, present

Matthew Provencher, ASUCD president pro-tempore, present

Brendan Repicky, ASUCD senator, present

Rebecca Sterling, ASUCD senator, present

Ryan Meyerhoff, ASUCD senator, present

Appointments and confirmations

Liam Burhe, Maggie Mei, Stephanie Johnson and Tiffany Lee were confirmed to the Academic Affairs Commission.

Emily Chen was confirmed to the Environmental Policy and Planning Commission.

Nicole Aiyoung, Farsam Fraz, Eric Will and Sabrina Diaz were confirmed to the Elections Committee.

Consideration of old legislation

Senate Bill 2, authored by Diaz-Ordaz, co-authored by Caitlin Alday, Alvarado, Anderson, Bush, Diaz-Ordaz, Espinoza, Gonzalez, Hernandez, Hubbard, Kindg, Martin, Montelongo, Pathak, Phan, Sekhon, Wren, Zabaleta, and Zepeda, introduced by Diaz-Ordaz to allocate $4,000 from Senate Reserves to Aggies of Color for the Student of Color Conference (S.o.C.C) being held Nov. 11 to 13, 2011. Both the External Affairs Commission and the Business and Finance Commission expressed concern about the high amount of revenue being asked for. A motion was placed to amend the amount of the grant to $2,500. After a heated discussion involving the public and the senators, the amended version of the bill passed with a 9-3 vote. Repicky, Sterling and Meyerhoff voted no.

Senate Bill 106, authored by Sergio Cano, introduced by Cano, to expand oversight of the ASUCD Elections Committee, was vetoed by President Thongsavat.

Senate Bill 107, authored by Cano, introduced by Cano, to address listserv usage in the Election Codes, was vetoed by President Thongsavat.

Meeting adjourned at 10:35 p.m.

Open positions within ASUCD can be found at vacancy.ucdavis.edu. CHARLOTTE YOUNG compiles the senate briefs. She can be reached at campus@theaggie.org.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here