68.1 F

Davis, California

Tuesday, May 28, 2024

Senate Briefs

ASUCD Senate meetings are scheduled to begin Thursdays at 6:10 p.m. Times listed are according to the clock at the Jan. 17 meeting location, the Memorial Union’s Mee Room. The ASUCD president is not required to attend senate meetings.

Meeting called to order at 6:10 p.m.

Rebecca Sterling, ASUCD president, present
Yena Bae, ASUCD vice president, present
Beatriz Anguiano, ASUCD senator, present
Bradley Bottoms, ASUCD senator, present
Liam Burke, ASUCD senator, present
Armando Figueroa, ASUCD senator, present
Don Gilbert, ASUCD senator, absent
Joyce Han, ASUCD senator, present
Maxwell Kappes, ASUCD senator, present
Kabir Kapur, ASUCD senator, pro tempore, present
Paul Min, ASUCD senator, present
Felicia Ong, ASUCD senator, present
Alyson Sagala, ASUCD senator, present
Tal Topf, ASUCD senator, present

Karl Mohr spoke about Chancellor Katehi’s 20/20 initiative that is focused on more aid to international students, enrollment and facilities and infrastructural needs.

Sterling updated the table on a trip that she and Controller Melanie Maemura went on for the MU renewal project. The project would remodel the MU and has not been finalized yet.

CalPIRG Chair Donna Farvard spoke about the organization’s recruitment drive and energy-efficiency campaign.

Appointments and confirmations
Alex Deng was confirmed as a Gender and Sexuality Commission commissioner.

Robert Hsu and Phi Nguyen were confirmed to the Entrepreneurship Fund.

Peter Neeley was confirmed to a manager position at the Experimental College.

Consideration of old legislation
Senate Bill 35, authored by Spencer McManus, to change the procedure for interviewing re-applicants, passed in a 10-2-0 vote.

Senate Bill 38, authored by Aaron Hsu, to create more efficiency in the election process, failed to pass in a 6-7-0 vote.

Senate Bill 41, authored by McManus, to change a section of the ASUCD Bylaws so it more accurately reflects the Senate agenda. The bill passed unanimously.

Senate Bill 42, authored by Eric Renslo, to suspend a bylaw about voting procedures, passed 7-5-0.

Meeting adjourned at 11:05 p.m.

Open positions within ASUCD can be found at vacancy.ucdavis.edu. SASHA COTTERELL compiled this senate brief. She can be reached at campus@theaggie.org.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here