75.8 F

Davis, California

Thursday, May 23, 2024

News in Brief: ASUCD election winners to be sworn in today

ASUCD senate election preliminary winners Ryan Wonders, Amrit Sahota, Pamela Nonga, Yee Xiong, Miles Thomas and Reuben Torres will be sworn in tonight at the ASUCD Senate meeting.

The election garnered 6,252 voters.

According to Elections Committee chair Aaron Hsu, complaints are still being considered. If the committee does not complete this process before the meeting, candidates will not receive Certificates of Election, per ASUCD Bylaw 415B.

Hsu said that because of this, the final winners cannot yet be confirmed.

Today’s meeting will also include Senate Farewells, as six outgoing senators — Beatriz Anguiano, Bradley Bottoms, Don Gilbert, Joyce Han, Kabir Kapur and Paul Min — will end their terms.

Outgoing senator Bradley Bottoms will be returning to the Senate table as ASUCD Vice President, alongside President-elect Carly Sandstrom.

Sandstrom and Bottoms will take office at the beginning of the final Senate meeting of Winter Quarter, per ASUCD Bylaw 415E.

— Muna Sadek


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here