59.8 F

Davis, California

Tuesday, May 21, 2024

Six new ASUCD Senators sworn in Thursday

During Thursday’s ASUCD Senate meeting, Kabir Kapur, Beatriz Anguiano, Bradley Bottoms, Paul Min and Don Gilbert ended their terms as ASUCD senators.

New Winter Quarter 2013 senators Pamela Nonga, Amrit Sahota, Miles Thomas, Reuben Torres, Ryan Wonder and Yee Xiong were sworn in shortly after.

Carly Sandstrom and Bradley Bottoms from the NOW slate won the executive ticket and will take office during the last Senate meeting of this quarter.

“Winning this election and having the chance to represent my fellow students is extremely humbling. It’s going to be a tough year, but I’m really excited to start my position and make this campus an even better place,” Sandstrom said.

The NOW slate garnered 2,989 votes.

“We look forward to working closely with all students, everyone within ASUCD and the administration to ensure that our campus grows, even in light of budgetary concerns and open positions throughout the university,” Bottoms said.

Pamela Nonga, third-year communication and political science double major (NOW)

Nonga plans to use this win to bring unity to this campus in addition to creating a subsection of the Aggie Reuse Store for textbooks.

She is the current president of Davis BlackBook and a member of the Davis College Democrats. She also has served as secretary for Black Student Union.

“I’m really looking forward to bridging the gaps within ASUCD and the one between the association and the student body. At the end of my term, I want to look back and see that I contributed to forming a more united and stronger campus,” she said.

Amrit Sahota, third-year biological sciences major (NOW)

Sahota is a winner from the NOW slate. As part of her platform Sahota plans to renovate and expand the interview center at the Internship and Career Center (ICC), as well as raise awareness about domestic violence and sexual assault.

She is currently the Student Manager of the Community Service Resource Center and president of the UC Davis Global Environmental Brigades.

Miles Thomas, fourth-year managerial economics major (BEST)

Thomas is the only winner from the BEST slate and is aiming to make ASUCD more accessible for students.

He is the Davis Anime Club president, League of Campus Organizations president and founder, and Student Political Action Committee co-president. He also founded the BEST slate.

“My first goal in office will be to create greater accessibility to student government, so that all students feel empowered when they enter ASUCD spaces, rather than discouraged or excluded,” he said.

Reuben Torres, third-year managerial economics major and Spanish minor (SMART)

Torres will work to have tutoring services available for students on weekends, increase Unitrans hours and create a retention fair that is not only for students on academic probation or subject to dismissal, but that all UC Davis students can benefit from. He currently works at the Student Recruitment and Retention Center (SRRC). He also served as the Administrative Director for the African Diaspora component and is an active member of both Mga Kapatid and the Black Student Union.

“At first I was very nervous about the whole process but [I’m] very excited [about] how the results came out. I’m really excited to be able to make changes on my campus and I’m excited to work within ASUCD…,” Torres said.

Ryan Wonders, second-year political science and international relations double major (NOW)

Wonders plans to initiate a pre-finals week Wellness Fair on the Quad and expand Unitrans night and weekend hours. He currently works as an Aggie Host security officer and was an intern for former ASUCD Senator Bradley Bottoms.

Yee Xiong, third-year Asian American Studies and design double major (SMART)

Xiong wants to extend the hours for study areas such as the ARC and SCC and make course evaluations available on Sisweb. She said this would make them accessible for all students when registering for classes and help instructors know students’ opinions regarding the course.

Xiong currently works at the Student Recruitment and Retention Center and is an active member of the Hmong Student Union and Southeast Asians Furthering Education.

SASHA COTTERELL can be reached at campus@theaggie.org. LILIANA NAVA OCHOA contributed to this article.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here